happy hour

Can we talk about wine for a minute?
I mean, can we talk about wine without anyone freaking out?

Can we avoid words like bouquet and tannin? Can we just talk like normal people? Can we agree that it’s fine if some people want to talk about those things but all we’re really interested in is finding wine that tastes good and that is affordable? And can we also agree that “less than $20” is not exactly what we mean by affordable?

This is the last bottle of wine I bought (let’s be clear: I mean the most recent, not the last bottle I will ever purchase. Shah.):

Ravenswood Old Vines Zinfandel, 2010, $7.99
It’s fine; it’s not great. There’s just not a whole lot going on there. It starts out good, fruity and little spicy, but by the time it goes down, it falls a little flat for me.
*Rack,Cellar or Skip: Skip.
(Of course, there’s plenty of people who disagree with me.)

*Let’s be real. I don’t know much about wine, but I know what I like and what I can afford. Here’s a rating system that makes sense for my life.
Rack: Easy to find at $10 or less and solid good.
Cellar: >$10 and worth it.
Skip: It’s wine, so of course it’s drinkable, but you can do better. 

Leave a Reply

