Maybe Ah’m is uh fool, Lawd, lak dey say

I have to get this off my chest:

I hate reading dialogue written in dialect.* It makes me crazy.

I mean, I get it. I really do. I realize dialect as a valuable literary technique for character development, setting immersion, cultural awareness, etc. I realize that the the very thing that makes me want to throw the book across the room–the way I have to plod through each sentence of spoken word, actually reading each.individual.word and then rereading phrases to put it together–is the point. But it still makes me want to rip my hair out. And it means that I’m only 30 pages into a book I’ve been reading for over a week. I think this might call for an audio book.

*I need to be clear here: my issue is not with people speaking in any given dialect; it’s seeing those dialects represented by written word.

Leave a Reply

